My something

I know.  Listen, I know.  I know before even posting this that 8 out of 10 of you already have this information. But, if you can believe it, there are several people in my world whom are not on Facebook (imagine the freedom!) and otherwise would not yet know about the movie.  Yes, THAT movie.

Okay, now that 3/4 of my audience have already clicked off this post, the rest of you get the back story on my latest project.  Recently I received a movie preview in my News Feed on Facebook (again with the Facebook) for a small, low-budget movie being released on May 2nd in limited cities across the country.  It is called Decoding Annie Parker.  I watched the video trailer and was touched.  That is really all it takes these days to get me hooked.  And boy, was I hooked.  Obviously, it is not too difficult to realize why a movie about a breast cancer survivor would be of interest given my recent year, add to that a strong, determined woman scientist named Dr. Mary-Claire King who was steadfast in her determination to prove a genetic link to cancer (specifically BRCA 1).  Furthermore, Dr. King is a real woman, geneticist, pioneer who (UC Berkeley/University of Washington) in 1990 succeeded in proving the link.  Women are now able to be tested for the presence of BRCA1/BRCA2 and can thus make decisions about their future/prevention before cancer is given a chance to strike.

On the Facebook movie preview there was mention that one could have a local showing of this film through a company named Gathr online.  I did my necessary research on the site, realized that I could attempt to have this movie shown locally, but I would need to have 50 people sign up before it would be confirmed.  50 people?  Could I reach that number?  Let’s see…..there is my husband, my mom…..um, a few friends….Being one to not shy away from a challenge, I had to try.  So through the hoops I jumped, requested a date/time/theater and waited.  A couple of weeks later I got an email…I had a screening!  I now had a theater, Southpoint Cinemas in Durham, NC.  A time: 7:30 PM and most importantly a number: 81.  Wait.  81?  I thought it was going to be 50.  Nope.  I needed to get 81 people to commit to buying a ticket ($11).  This was because I happened to have been given a large theater and needed a higher quota to meet the requirements of the company.  Long story short, 2 weeks ago I started sending evites, emails, Facebook posts, to any and all local friends/family/neighbors.  I humbly share that to date we have sold 90 tickets and the movie is an official GO.  Thank you, thank you to all  who have already bought tickets to the movie.  To those who haven’t, here (again) are the details below and I would LOVE to see you on the 15th.

A few people have asked me so I will share.  No, I am not BRCA positive.  Honestly, I was never tested.  My decision for bilateral mastectomy was based on other factors (my autoimmune disease, a “high-risk” type of cells found in my breast, some family history, my lack of cancer treatment options if cancer had occurred, etc).  I find myself a bit of an anomaly in this sect.  Am I a cancer survivor?  No.  Prophylactic mastectomy?  Yes.  Am I BRCA positive?  No.  Did I have reconstruction?  No.  But, I feel such a strong drive to get information out to women, encourage patients of any gender to be empowered to make medical decisions that are right for them, raise awareness for breast cancer, genetic testing AND enjoy a night out with those who have been so amazingly supportive of me this year.  That is why I am doing this.

I have expanded my marketing a bit since we still have 200 seats in the theater available before we are full.  Not in my wildest will we sell out, and even if only 20 people show up, I will be grateful.  But, I just do not want to waste the opportunity to share the information in case there are people in town who would enjoy seeing the movie.  Bottom line: please share this information (email/post/list-servs).  I am now reaching out to local charities, hospitals, genetic counselors and some of my Duke caregivers.  I just got an email yesterday to be interviewed on a local radio show to help promote the showing!  So, please help me get the word out.  I will be especially grateful (at least more than I already am, if possible).

Decoding Annie Parker

May 15, 2014 7:30 PM – One time showing

Southpoint Cinemas, Durham, NC

For tickets:  www.gathr.us/screening/7745

Trailer:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQQRTrV1Tos

Lastly, for those of you who are used to reading spoonsandarmor, you know I can’t end without leaving you with a small take-away.  If you took the time to watch the trailer, you will see there is a point (1:50) where Annie’s husband says “Why can’t you just leave it alone?” and she replies “I’ve got to do something.”  The first time I saw this movie trailer it compelled me to act.  I am still not sure why.  But, I continued to go through the process to see if I could make it happen.  It just felt like something I needed to do.  Something I could do.  My something.  It doesn’t matter what it is, but if you have that feeling that something matters to you, that you could make a difference, no matter how small, I suggest you follow your gut and give it a try.

This entry was posted in Prior posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

